Interview with Tamara Shoemaker: Author of Mark of Four


wpid-20151017_141700.jpg

  1. Tell me a little about who you are and what you write.

I’m a bookworm masquerading as a wife, mother of three, writer of books, freelance editor. Imagination is my middle name. Or chocolate, one or the other.
image

  1. How did you get into writing?

It’s always hard to know how to answer this. I’ve doodled stories from little on up, but didn’t actually finish a novel until 2006. It took me six years to find a publisher, but I loved the creation of novels so much, I haven’t stopped making books since.

  1. If you were on a deserted island, what three books would you bring with you and why?
    1. How to Build a Boat and Other Interesting Things You Can Do with Palm Fronds – for obvious reasons.
    2. 1001 Travel Games – in case of boredom
    3. 400 Ways to Cook Seaweed – for, you know, the meals I’ll need to host.TamaraShoemaker-300dpi-3125x4167(1)
  2. Give us an idea of what Mark of Four is about.

Seventeen-year-old Alayne Worth wields four elements in a world where all other Elementals wield only one, and every force on CommonEarth, both good and bad, wants to use her talents with fire, air, earth, and water. How will she survive the struggle for the power she possesses?

  1. What books are similar to Mark of Four?

A test-reader just got done reading Mark of Four yesterday and gave me his opinion. “It’s Harry Potter meets Avatar,” he said. As a lifelong Harry Potter fan and a loyal follower of Avatar, I’ll take that as high praise.

  1. If your book gets made into a movie, who would play the main characters?
  • Alayne – a slightly younger Adrianne Palicki (Bobby, Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.)
  • (Diving into the cartoon world) Marysa – Rapunzel from Tangled (with shorter, dark hair)
  • Jayme – Flynn Ryder, also from Tangled
  • Kyle (Departing from the cartoon world again) – Luke Mitchell (Lincoln, Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.)
  • Daymon – Theo James (Four, Divergent)
  • Manders – Robert Downey, Jr. (Tony Stark/Iron Man, The Avengers)
  • Malachi – Woody Harrelson (Haymitch, Hunger Games)
  1. What are some of the other books you have written?

I have four mysteries out: my Shadows in the Nursery series, and another mystery, Soul Survivor. This past summer, I released the first book of my Heart of a Dragon trilogy, Kindle the Flame, and its sequel will follow in March of 2016. Mark of Four is the first book of my Guardian of the Vale trilogy.

  1. How do you juggle being a stay-at-home mom and an amazing author?

image

image

Sheer insanity. Lots of coffee. And an understanding and supportive husband.

  1. Name your favorite animal and why…(this was a sneaky, three-point question…) 🙂

Gorillas fascinate me. When I visit the zoo, they are the one animal that I would sit and watch for hours, if I could. Of course, I’ve never cuddled with a gorilla, so if I ever had the chance, it’s possible I would choose the more normal cat or dog answer.

  • Could you give me three words that say what you like about a gorilla?
    • Gorilla: Three words or three phrases? I’m having trouble coming up with anything besides big, hairy, or funny for the words. Phrases could be: a.) He plays peek-a-boo with my kids and saves me a whole lot of energy, b.) he picks his nose just like my son, and c.) he uses his toes like fingers. Wish I could do that. 🙂
  • Okay, so using your phrases about your fav animals (big, hairy, funny, plays peek-a-boo, picks his nose, uses toes like fingers) – tell me how those characteristics relate to you.
    • Hahaha!! Hmm, I’m not very big or hairy, but I do have an occasional funny moment. I play peek-a-boo with my kids, but not as well as said gorilla. In shocking news, I have picked my nose before, but have trouble using my toes like fingers–they just don’t have that piano flexibility that I’ve developed with my hands. 🙂
    • wpid-20151017_141748.jpg wpid-20151017_141808.jpg
  1. Who inspires you?

I am amazed every week by the work of the Flashdogs, writers from around the world who come together online to offer pieces of absolutely stunning work on various flash fiction sites. When I hit writer’s block, I go search for their work, and generally reading over their stories shatters the wall, and the stories begin flowing again.

tamara2bw-crop

Tamara Shoemaker lives in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia with her husband, three children, a few jars of Nutella, and a never-ending carafe of coffee. She authored the Amazon best-selling Shadows in the Nursery Christian mystery series and Soul Survivor, another Christian mystery. Her fantasy books include the beginning of the Heart of a Dragon trilogy: Kindle the Flame, as well as the upcoming Guardian of the Vale trilogy.

Follow her on social media:

Twitter: @TamaraShoemaker

Website: www.tamarashoemaker.org

Facebook: www.facebook.com/tshoebooks

 

Let me know what you think! Déjame saber qué piensas!

