Flash! Friday–Vol 2 – 30


Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness
By: Allison K. Garcia
160 words

“What they doin’ in there?”

“I ain’t for sure but they been at it for days. We been layin’ out breakfast, lunch, and dinner there if they’s to eat anything.”

“Sally told me Master Thomas was holed up in his study for two straight weeks. Slept right in his chair. Can you imagine?”

“I reckon it ain’t any worse than the straw beds I slept on at the Tyson farm.”

All three ladies nodded as they dried the clean dishes.

A small voice whispered out of the corner of the kitchen: “I snuck a look at it.”

“Susana, I told you to stay out the way. You get underfoot and the missus gonna send you to another family.” There was a pause. “Well, get on with it. What’d you see?”

Susana sat up tall. “A real important paper. Talkin’ ‘bout freedom. ‘All men are created equal’ it said.”

“Equal?” She snickered. “I ain’t seen anyone else scrubbing chamberpots this morning.”

via Flash! Friday–Vol 2 – 30.

Let me know what you think! Déjame saber qué piensas!

