How Will My Garden Grow? April 2013


Springtime!!!!! Ah, the bumblebees are buzzing, the trees are budding, and the scent of freshly tilled earth has arrived at the Garcia household.

My hubby,  my friend, Julianne, and I tilled the garden last weekend. Julio and I tilled the side garden (which is chock-ful of rocks), added compost, and extra soil with fertilizer. Then we made a fence and he made a gate. It is not a beautiful garden, but we are hoping that with each year, the earth will get better and better. Today I planted corn in rows and stuck some sticks on either side of each row, so I didn’t step on them! In a couple weeks I’ll plant some butternut squash and watermelons between them. Here are some pictures!

DSCN3940 DSCN3941 Hopefully they’ll be stuff growing there soon!

Last week Julianne, Julio, and I tilled the back garden. The earth is so soft and rich now after I worked it really well last year. Today I planted green lettuce, red sail lettuce, spinach, and arugula in one corner.

DSCN3943 DSCN3942

Next to that are some onions that were planted last year and haven’t died. They may or may not be okay to eat. 🙂 Next to the onions I planted carrot seeds. I then planted tomatoes and snap peas.

DSCN3945 DSCN3947

In the front yard I have an herb garden. Several herbs made it all the way through the winter. Actually all of them except the basil and the parsley (which I replanted).

DSCN3932

So I have my Scarsborough Fair garden with parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme.

DSCN3933

And I have lavender and oregano and some space for basil. Yum!

DSCN3934

One of my big goals for our home is to be as self-sustainable as possible, so I bought my first two blackberry bushes from Lowe’s. I hope to one day have bushes and grapevines lining the fences and also have a fruit tree (I’m leaning towards apple). Here are my first two blackberry bushes!

DSCN3950 DSCN3949 DSCN3948

Here are some pretty pictures of flowers around my house.

DSCN3944 DSCN3939 DSCN3938 DSCN3937 DSCN3936 DSCN3935

This garden is on the other side of my house and mostly grows weeds and three or four different types of mint. We may or may not tackle this garden next year.

DSCN3952

And then there are these crazy vines growing on the back fence…not sure if they are weeds or something good. Does anyone know?

DSCN3951

Anyway, those are the gardens and plants around my house! I hope to update their growth progress (hopefully not their demise) throughout the summer. Enjoy the spring weather!

2 thoughts on “How Will My Garden Grow? April 2013

  1. I can’t tell about your vine right now — need to see some leaves first, 🙂 It sure looks like it may be a grape that someone was trying for at some point. (Thing is, you have to have at least two grape vines for pollination.) If it’s a grape, it may have gone wild since it doesn’t seem to have been tended much. Grape vines can be notoriously hard to get rid of — but only when you don’t want them! If you *do* want them, they’re notoriously hard to get growing and producing well, LOL

Let me know what you think! Déjame saber qué piensas!

