Spicy Beef, Gardening, and a Scam, Oh My!!!


UPDATE: Heard back from Sue Zheng. Scandal resolved! Here’s what I’m going to do. There will be two winners! The one that SlimKicker picked as their winner and the one who gets the most votes!

Image

Oh no, you didn’t!

So, don’t despair, readers! If you commented on the “Add Your Two Cents…” post, we are going to see how many likes you can get between now and Friday. Whoever gets the most likes will win the digital kitchen scale promised . I figured this would be the most impartial way to do this. Whoever wins, I will mail you the scale from Amazon.

On a happier note, I did a lot of gardening this week and the ground is ready for planting. Lost a pound this week, woot! Also, I cooked up some amazing Spicy Orange Beef, from a recipe from the Pattenburg Cookbook (a classic from my NJ church), from our very own Ginny Gilmore. I doctored the recipe a bit. Hope you enjoy it!

Spicy Orange Beef or Chicken (Cook Time – 30 minutes)

1 lb stew beef (or chicken breast), cut in small pieces (I used kitchen shears)

2 tbsp flour (I used chestnut flour – my addition))

1 tbsp olive oil (original recipe called for corn oil)

1 zest from an orange (original recipe called for slivered orange peel)

1 clove garlic, chopped (I used 3!)

2 onions, chopped (my addition)

1 green pepper, chopped (my addition)

1/2 tsp ground ginger (fresh is better but I didn’t have any!)

2 tbsp cornstarch

1 cup beef broth or chicken broth (did have either, just used water)

1/4 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup sherry (I used red wine)

1/4 cup orange marmalade (I used mango jam)

1/2 tsp crushed dried red pepper (I used more)

10 chiles de arbol (my addition)

2 tbsp of sesame seeds (my addition)

In wok or large skillet, heat oil over medium high heat. Coat meat with flour by tossing around in a bag. Stir fry for 3 minutes, while adding onion and pepper. Add orange zest, garlic, ginger and chili peppers. Stir fry one minute. Stir together cornstarch, broth/water, soy sauce, wine, jam, and pepper flakes. Mix into meat and add sesame seeds. Bring to boil, stirring constantly, for one minute. Serve over rice. Makes 4-6 servings.

Let me know what you think! Déjame saber qué piensas!

