I Like to Think of Myself as Dorky Cool…


As far back as I can remember, I was a little off (my parents and my brother can corroborate this fact). While other girls were having slumber parties, I was forcing my brother to play school using our encyclopedias from the 1960s, dancing to Madonna in Grandma B’s basement with my cousin, JC, or writing disturbing horror stories (my favorite is called “Footsteps in the Attic” and is about a demon-possessed cat with no eyes!). Here’s proof of my early childhood dorky coolness:

DSCN3896

DSCN3900  (these are moon shoes)

DSCN3902(I built a car out of K’Nex and put my trolls in them!) DSCN3897  (While watching “Gone with the Wind” I made this ferris wheel out of K’nex. Note the AquaNet on the dresser and the D.A.R.E. notebook on the floor next to the Casio. Classic!)

In seventh and eighth grade whenother kids were hanging out in their popular cliques on the playground, my friend, Sue Eschbach, and I were meeting on the bleachers for our X-Files Club (of which we were the only two members…though two girls were later drafted in). Sue and I would collect everything X-Files related, and we even had a code language with which we wrote top secret letters to each other. These letters generally consisted of talking about whether Mulder and Scully had a 14-45 (NDE – Near Death Experience) or a 20-45 (TDE – Total Death Experience) that week on the show. Awesomeness! I even went to the level of dorkiness to go to an X-Files convention! (I met Skinner, what? what?) Here is proof of my junior high dorkiness:

DSCN3884 (this is all that is left of my X-Files collection!)

DSCN3885 (the last of our secret letters – decoded!)

Then in high school, I did what most dorks/nerds/geeks did and joined the marching band. While in elementary school (which in our school was K-8) I was mostly friendless, I found myself with many similarly dorky and awesome band geeks. We actually did some amazing things together, including marching around Epcot, driving precariously through the Alps between Austria and Germany, and standing/marching on the 50-yard-line on the field in Giants Stadium. Please enjoy these classic pictures from this era of my life:

DSCN3883 DSCN3887  (notice that I have on an X-Files shirt!)DSCN3906  (we were really excited about eating strawberries in Germany)

DSCN3905 DSCN3903 (with my host family)

When I went to college, thankfully, my dorkiness was not squelched but rather, encouraged by my roommates, who were also pretty awesome. As freshman, we spent our weekends (and weekdays) watching Ma and Pa on”Little House on the Prairie” (or LHOP, as we called it), somehow squeezing in 10 hours per week of the show. My roommate and I played the game “20 Questions” late into the night trying to guess old sitcoms and cartoons from the 80s and 90s. The best moment was when my roommate screamed out “Thundercats! Ho!” at the top of her lungs at 3am and one of our hallmates came and banged on the door, reducing our gameplay into a fit of giggles. I also did such dorky cool things as get up to a purple belt in Shotokan Karate and be a radio co-host with my roommate for several years (one of our favorite tricks was bleeping out bad words and adding in our own phrases). Allison, the college years:

DSCN3895 DSCN3894  (this isn’t even my car…)DSCN3893 DSCN3892  (wearing dish soap like a unicorn…?)DSCN3891 DSCN3890

After college, I went to an interesting grad school where I did mandalas and dream interpretation (and other reputable things!) and now do such odd things as make my own cheese, take Irish dancing classes, ride horses in the ocean (almost died from fright), play “Iron Man” and “Don’t Stop Believin'” on my electric guitar in front of my piano students and their families, play Super Mario Brothers for date nights with my hubby, and write this very dorky cool blog.

DSCN3886 DSCN3882 DSCN1522 DSCN1338 DSCN1239

DSCN3541 DSCN3823

All in all, I enjoy my personality (and so do most people…though there are the occasional haters) and enjoy finding unique people like myself to share our dorkiness with the world. I would love if you would share below some of your own personal stories of being dorky cool!

New addition! My friend, Jessica, just sent me this gem that was taken a year or two ago!

883535_10102473308741339_848925345_o

2 thoughts on “I Like to Think of Myself as Dorky Cool…

  1. Hey I know that dorky cool Allison!!

    To add to the list, I’ve wore my bathing suit to the cafeteria in college for extra credit (and promptly dropped my towel while holding a tray, therefore I could not catch said towel before falling off).
    I love tiny things… I even have a tiny car and a tiny husband.
    I almost died my hair purple 2 days ago for no reason, but chickened out!
    I’m hoping soon to have a party for my foosball table and make everyone dress like the foos guys.
    I like making art out of trash.
    Wearing funny hats.
    Making stupid faces for photos.
    Miss you Allison! 🙂

Let me know what you think! Déjame saber qué piensas!

