Making Ricotta Cheese


Hey, everyone! I made cheese this week and decided to share it with the world (my experience, not my cheese)! On Tuesday I made ricotta cheese, which only requires a gallon of milk (I use raw milk – I have a cow share) and some citric acid (I purchased a kit on http://www.cheesemaking.com ). Here are some pictures!

Image

You have to get the milk up to 195 degrees, so it takes a while!

Image

Image

In this picture above, you can see the curds separating from the whey. The next step is to pour it into cheese cloth and drain the whey from the curds. Luckily, my friend, Sandra, arrived at the perfect time to help document my cheesemaking!

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Now comes the hard part! Pouring everything into the cheesecloth without burning myself with the boiling hot liquid and without messing up the cheesecloth!

Image

Note the fear in my eyes! Next, you tie up the cheesecloth and hang it from something for a half an hour or so until the whey has drained out (the longer you hang it, the drier it becomes).

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

As you can see, it looks pretty cool and it tastes yummy! I think I’ll make stuffed shells this weekend.

Let me know what you think! Déjame saber qué piensas!

