Making Mozzarella Cheese


I made mozzarella cheese tonight! In some ways, it’s a bit easier than ricotta. There are more steps, but it seems to take a lot less time (only takes 30 minutes). Ricotta takes longer because you have to heat it to a higher temperature. That’s one of the things that makes cheeses different – the temperature. Mozzarella is made with a gallon of milk (again I use raw milk), citric acid, and rennet (the stuff that makes cheese hard…pretty sure I read in LHOP that it is part of a cow’s organs). I have a couple videos to go along with them. My piano student/guitar teacher/friend, Ben Bowman, was my sidekick for tonight’s cheesemaking process.

Image

It got to the right temperature really fast! Then, you let it sit and after a few minutes, you’ll see that the curds and whey are separating.

Image

 

Then, you cut it up and start stirring it.ImageImage

I’m new to blogging and am not sure how to add a video here, so I’ll add it later! After the stirring, comes the heating and stretching of the cheese. Here is the finished product!

Image

Let me know what you think! Déjame saber qué piensas!

